Book Of Leviticus

National Association of Christian Ministers Summary Series


The Book of Leviticus is the third book of the Old Testament and focuses on the laws and regulations given by God to the Israelites. It primarily deals with matters of worship, ritual purity, and ethical conduct. Here is a summary of the key themes and content found in Leviticus:

1. Sacrificial System: Leviticus provides detailed instructions for various types of offerings and sacrifices that the Israelites were to offer to God.

These include:

burnt offerings,

grain offerings,

peace offerings,

sin offerings, and

guilt offerings.

The book outlines the procedures for presenting these offerings and the roles of the priests in administering them.

2. Ritual Purity: Leviticus emphasizes the importance of ritual purity and holiness. It provides guidelines on how to maintain cleanliness and avoid impurity, particularly in relation to issues such as skin diseases, bodily discharges, and dietary restrictions.

The book highlights the significance of separating the holy from the profane.

3. The Day of Atonement: Leviticus describes the rituals and observances of the Day of Atonement (Yom Kippur), which was the most solemn day in the Israelite calendar.

On this day, the high priest would enter the Holy of Holies and offer sacrifices to atone for the sins of the people. It represents the annual cleansing and forgiveness of the nation’s sins.

4. Code of Holiness: Leviticus contains a section known as the Holiness Code, which outlines ethical and moral laws that guide the behavior of the Israelites.

These laws cover various aspects of life, including:



sexual ethics, and

social responsibility.

The overarching theme is the call to live a holy and righteous life in obedience to God’s commandments.

5. Laws Regarding Priests: Leviticus provides specific regulations concerning the priests, including:

their consecration,

duties, and


It highlights the importance of their role as intermediaries between God and the people, ensuring the proper administration of the sacrificial system and the maintenance of purity within the religious community.

6. Festivals and Sabbatical Years: The book also includes instructions regarding the observance of religious festivals, such as:


the Feast of Weeks (Pentecost), and

the Feast of Tabernacles.

It also addresses the Sabbath rest and the commandment to observe a sabbatical year every seven years, during which the land is to be left fallow and debts are to be released.

Leviticus serves as a guidebook for the Israelites’ worship, ritual practices, and ethical conduct, emphasizing the importance of holiness and obedience to God’s commandments. While it contains detailed instructions that may seem distant to modern readers, it provides insights into the religious and cultural life of ancient Israel and lays the foundation for the religious practices that continued throughout the Old Testament.