Summary of the New Testament

National Association of Christian Ministers Summary Series

The New Testament is the second part of the Christian Bible, and it consists of 27 books written in Greek between the 1st and 2nd centuries AD. It provides a record of the life, teachings, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ, as well as the growth and spread of the early Christian church.

The New Testament is divided into four main sections:

the Gospels,

the Acts of the Apostles,

the Epistles, and

the Book of Revelation.

The Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) provide accounts of the life and teachings of Jesus Christ, from his birth and ministry to his crucifixion and resurrection.

The Acts of the Apostles (written by Luke) continues the story of the early Christian church, describing the spread of the gospel from Jerusalem to Rome, and highlighting the role of the apostles in its growth.

The Epistles (or letters) were written by various authors (including Paul, Peter, James, and John) to provide instruction and guidance to the early Christian communities on topics such as theology, ethics, and Christian living.

Finally, the Book of Revelation (written by John) provides a prophetic vision of the end times, including the return of Jesus Christ and the ultimate triumph of God’s kingdom.

Overall, the New Testament presents a message of salvation and hope through faith in Jesus Christ, and provides guidance for Christian living and growth.